We understand that facing a criminal charge involving domestic violence is one of the most serious events of your life. Blizzard and Zimmerman Attorneys will aggressively help you mitigate the consequences of your charge. Our criminal defense lawyers offer honest advice to help you understand your legal position to help you make informed decisions about your own future.
If you have been arrested for either domestic violence or domestic assault, your first priority and action to take is to consult with a lawyer.
Don’t Talk To Anyone But An Attorney About Your Case
Do not provide any statements to the police about the allegation.
Assume that everyone you talk to about the allegations is recording you.
Unlike most criminal offenses in Texas, if you are convicted of a family violence crime you can never seal your criminal record.
So a conviction does have lifelong implications.
If you or a loved one has been accused or charged with a domestic assault crime, it’s critical that you hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Domestic Assault / Domestic Violence · The Texas Penal Code defines assault as:
- Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse.
- Intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse.
- Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
When these acts are committed against a family or household member, the crime becomes domestic assault.
Family or household members are:
- Current or former spouses
- Parents of the same child
- Foster child and parent
- Relatives by blood, marriage, or adoption
- Current or former co-residents, and
- Current or former dating or romantic partners.
The penalties a person can face for Domestic Assault / Domestic Violence include:
- Domestic assault involving threats of harm or provocative or offensive contact are classified as Class C misdemeanors here in Texas, which can result in a $500 fine.
- If a victim suffers bodily injury, the penalty increases to a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in 1 year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
- If there have been any prior domestic assault convictions or the offense involved strangulation or suffocation, it is classified as a third-degree felony, which can result in 2-10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Contact the attorneys of Blizzard and Zimmerman as we have the experience required to give you the best representation possible.
Clients who face domestic violence charges can be confident in the abilities of attorneys Jacob Blizzard, Matt Zimmerman, Sarah Durham, and Morgan Walker to vigorously defend them with personal attention.
Call today for a one-on-one consultation with one of our criminal defense attorneys to find out how we can put our skills and experience to work for you. They will review your case with you and look at potential options for your defense.