Here in Texas, there are a number of legal guidelines that deal with burglary, home invasion, and criminal trespass.
If you are charged with burglary this is a serious offense.
The local prosecuting attorney must prove beyond a reasonable double that you entered property: a home, personal dwelling, a commercial business, or even a motor vehicle, without permission of the owner with the intent to commit a crime.
This would also include breaking into a vending machine.
These cases can involve a theft and/or an assault.
The crimes are either a misdemeanor or felonies.
It’s also possible that the theft occurred without entry into a building or vehicle and the theft was just committed while on the premises.
At Blizzard & Zimmerman Attorneys, we are passionate about representing individuals who have been arrested on burglary charges.
Contact us today to set up a consultation with one of our criminal defense lawyers who can vigorously defend you.
BURGLARY IN TEXAS
The Texas Penal Code defines burglary as:
Without the effective consent of the owner, the person:
- Enters a habitation, or a building (or any portion of a building) not then open to the public, with intent to commit a felony, theft, or an assault; or
- Remains concealed, with intent to commit a felony, theft, or an assault, in a building or habitation; or
- Enters a building or habitation and commits or attempts to commit a felony, theft, or an assault.
The penalties for burglary are pretty stiff depending on the place that was burglarized
- Buildings other than habitations are classified as state jail felonies, which can result in 180 days – 2 years in jail, and a $10,000 fine.
- If the premise is a place where a controlled substance is stored, it is classified as a third-degree felony, which can result in 2-10 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
- Buildings that are habitations are classified as second-degree felonies, which can result in 2-20 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
- If the premises are a habitation and another felony other than theft is intended or attempted, it is classified as a first-degree felony and can result in 5-99 years/life in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
Charged with a Crime?
If you’ve been arrested be sure to seek professional legal representation.
Our team of Criminal Defense Attorneys here at Blizzard and Zimmerman will work with you to make sure your rights are protected.
Call today to schedule a one-on-one consultation with one of our Abilene criminal defense lawyers.